There are 13 sewer districts throughout the County, all managed by DEF’s Wastewater & Water Division. The Division manages the facilities that process the wastewater and ensure environmental standards are met for the health and safety of all residents. After sewage leaves a residence, it flows through a lateral line, which is the responsibility of the property owner, into a sewer main owned, operated, and maintained by the local municipality. It is then conveyed into a District trunk sewer and makes its way either through gravity or a pump station to one of the seven DEF managed water resource recovery facilities. Those facilities treat and process the waste in accordance with environmental standards.

Report an issue of concern

Sign up for alerts

Water District #3 provides drinking water to residents, tests and maintains water facilities for compliance with clean water standards.